The one when I get it

Today my plan was to see Marble Mountains and to relax later on. It was a really nice day. I arranged a driver to get me to the places I wanted to see. I wanted to rent a motorbike myself but it cost the same so I went for the easy option. When I was lying on the beach later that day reading a book surrounded by other Westerners doing exactly the same it hit. I finally understood what I’ve been missing in Vietnam. I’m don’t feel like a traveler. I am a tourist here. What makes a difference for me is that tourists are on holidays. They are taking a break from their “normal life” and their main goal is to enjoy themselves. Traveling is a part of “normal life” for travelers. To enjoy themselves (which they most certainly do) is not the most important thing. The goal is to get to know. That’s what I miss. I don’t feel like I’m getting to know Vietnam. Locals are making things easy for foreigners (of course it costs). They make us enjoy ourselves. They don’t let us get to know them.

at the Marble Mountains

 

 

 

7 Responses to “The one when I get it”

  1. Slavkos Says:

    No no. Trochę filozofii….
    Aniu opisz trochę miejsca w których robiłaś zdjęcia.
    Mam już zapytania czy nie planujesz wydać jakiegoś przewodnika po powrocie? A mama pyta o te następne plany wyjazdu do Azji pd wsch.?!

  2. annaik Says:

    Tak. Troche “filozofii”… 😛

    Postaram sie pisac wiecej o miejscach w ktorych jestem. Co do przewodnika to bylaby to co najmniej arogancja 🙂 Za malo czasu zeby cokolwiek dobrze poznac. Aha… Plany jeszcze niekonkretne 🙂 Buziaki!

  3. Slavkos Says:

    ANIA. OSTATNI WPIS NA BLOGU Z…. 12.11.2009!!!!!!!
    do klawiatury marsz!

  4. Diego Says:

    Don´t worry about being classified as a tourist or as a traveler. And remember, that the perfect traveler doesn´t exist. Probably, the best thing you can do is to enjoy a little bit of both ways of doing.

  5. annaik Says:

    It’s not that it bothers me that I am classified as a tourist or a traveler. I don’t mind. I think about myself and enjoy being both. It’s more like the general feeling I had in Vietnam. Something was missing… I got in back in Laos though 🙂 Un beso!

  6. indian mp3 songs Says:

    An all around great post.

  7. sue Says:

    I dont disagree with this article!

Leave a comment